Stages of Labor

Every woman’s labor is different, following it’s own pattern (even from pregnancy to pregnancy) and there are some things that can’t be anticipated. Although every labor and birth is unique and your labor will unfold in a very special way, the process is remarkably and beautifully constant. You can expect a sequence of events, when everything goes smoothly.

Labor is typically divided into three distinct stages. The first stage being when your cervix softens, dilates and thins out (effacement), ending in full dilation.

The first stage can be divided into three “phases”: the early (or latent phase), the active phase and the transition phase. The second stage of labor is when your baby passes through the birth canal and is born. During the third stage, the placenta (afterbirth) is delivered.

Signs of Labor
Preterm Labor
Preterm Complications
Preterm Labor Causes
Preterm Prevention and Treatment
First Stage: Phase I
First Stage: Phase II
First Stage: Phase III
Second Stage
Third Stage
Induction of Labor
Induction of Labor Procedures
Labor Induction Risks
Do It Yourself Labor Induction

Pregnancy Lounge